德克萨斯A&M大学新兴技术大楼

学院站 (得克萨斯州)
工程中的独创性

作为第一个定义工程学院四合院的主要建筑,德州A&M构思了一个既协作又能够适应新兴技术和研究计划未来需求的空间。 不仅是一个培养解决问题的空间,而且还提供了一个机会,展示想法,启发学生和游客。

为了帮助合并几个工程学科最聪明的人才之间的空间差距,我们把他们都放在一个屋檐下,以教育学生并开发创新技术。 从社交聚会和活动到演示和通宵策划会议,空间的核心已成为活动中心。 其设计激发了原创思维和生产力,对于向潜在的行业合作伙伴展示金融联盟和研究资助也至关重要。 我们共同为工程专业学生和研究人员创造了一个合作、培养创造力和分享革命性想法的大门。

"这一设施的影响将不仅仅是开发技术的催化剂;它的作用将不仅仅是开发技术的催化剂。在这些城墙内发现的最终结果将服务于最可敬的目的,即提高整个社会的福祉。

副校长兼工程院长金布尔·贝内特博士

可 持续 性

设计中实施的环保策略包括两个带变速实验室跟踪系统的车轮,可提供优化的 HVAC 能效。 日光采集和占用传感器有助于减少照明需求,并选择了低流量管道装置以减少用水量。 我们通过包括现场收集系统,满足所有景观和灌溉需求,进一步规划了再生节水。 为了过滤水,天然的景观元素和雨水花园提供自然过滤。

建筑分区和机翼组织允许教学空间、演讲厅、研究实验室和教师办公室在三层中央中庭周围无缝共存。
作为生物医学、工业和系统工程部门的所在地,这些实验室是强大、模块化和支持的跨学科工作。
可重新配置的空间可以像学生一样适应,鼓励研究和技术进步。
"这栋建筑与其他设施的区别是,它不仅支持两个学术部门,而且有目的地支持大学内各学院的多学科教育和研究。

副校长兼工程院长金布尔·贝内特博士

项目团队

人员
Ed Cordes
人员
Diego Rozo
人员
Jason Chan

Texas A&M University Emerging Technologies Building

College Station, Texas
Ingenuity in Engineering

As the first major building to define the College of Engineering quadrangle, Texas A&M ideated a space that was both collaborative, and able to accommodate future needs of the emerging technology and research initiatives. Not only a space that cultivated problem solving, but also offered an opportunity to showcase ideas and inspire students and visitors.

To help merge the spacial gap between the brightest minds across several engineering disciplines, we brought them all under one roof, to educate students and develop innovative technologies. At its core, the space has become a hub of activity, from social gatherings and events, to presentations and all-night planning sessions. Its design stimulates original thought and productivity, and is also vital for exhibitions to potential industry partners for financial coalitions and research grant funding. Collectively, we created a front door for engineering students and researchers to collaborate, cultivate ingenuity, and share revolutionary ideas.

“The impact of this facility will be much more than a mere catalyst for developing technologies; the ultimate result of the discoveries made within these walls will serve the most honorable of purposes, and that is to enhance the well-being of society, as a whole."
Dr. G. Kemble Bennett, Vice Chancellor and Dean of Engineering
Sustainability

Eco-friendly strategies implemented in the design include two enthalpy wheels with a variable speed lab tracking system that provides optimized HVAC energy efficiency. Daylight harvesting and occupancy sensors serve to reduce lighting demand, and low flow plumbing fixtures were selected to reduce water usage. We strategized further recycled water savings by including an on-site collection system that fulfills all of the landscape and irrigation needs. To filter that water, the naturally vegetated landscape elements and a rain garden provide natural filtration.

Zoning of the building and the organization by wings allows teaching spaces, lecture halls, research labs, and faculty offices to coexist seamlessly around the three-story central atrium.
As a home to both Biomedical and Industrial and Systems Engineering departments, these labs are robust, modular, and support interdisciplinary work.
Reconfigurable spaces can adapt just as well as the students, encouraging research and technology advancement.
“What distinguishes this building from other facilities is that it not only supports two academic departments, but purposefully supports multidisciplinary education and research across colleges within the university.”
Dr. G. Kemble Bennett, Vice Chancellor and Dean of Engineering

Project Team

People
Ed Cordes
People
Diego Rozo
People
Jason Chan