外部
外部

上海自然博物馆

上海, 中国
徜徉在自然的沧海桑田

博物馆是一面镜子,记录着历史的沧桑巨变和人类的繁复万千。博物馆无论是以历史或文化、科学或艺术、自然或璀璨的人类文明为主题,它们都“以人为本”。

鉴于人们对老博物馆的情结,上海自然博物馆的新馆建设充满挑战。“对于在上海长大的人们,老自然博物馆具有特殊意义,”上海办公室总经理吕羽说。

该馆最醒目的标志是高达33.5米的多孔细胞墙,就像考古学家刚从地下发掘而出一样。

以人与自然和谐共处为灵感,博物馆的每个展区都强调与观众的互动,也包括绿意盎然的螺旋式坡屋面。阳光从各个方向倾泻而入,为展品注入新的活力和生机。

建筑毗邻上海市静安雕塑公园,其设计灵感来源于大自然中最纯粹的几何形态——鹦鹉螺壳。和谐的外观,完美的比例,以优美的螺旋姿态缓缓而起。

素描
项目概述
将建筑与自然相结合,为城市和市民带来全新体验的自然博物馆。
细胞壁
幕墙主结构强调了细胞作为自然界基本的结构和功能单位的作用。
标志性的细胞墙

细胞墙由三层组成,每层都有独特的几何图案和有机形态,呈椭圆形围绕着中庭。幕墙主结构层强调了细胞作为自然界基本的结构和功能单位的作用。内层由玻璃和铝型材幕墙组成,为建筑提供防水保护。外层为遮阳层,以现代的手法重新诠释中国传统建筑的构成要素——窗棂,同事与细胞的形态形成关联。

细胞壁
三个立面

三大主立面设计呼应了博物馆主题。中央的细胞墙呼应动植物的细胞结构;东面的绿植墙代表地表的植被;北面的石墙则寓意地壳板块变迁,以及河流侵蚀冲刷的峡谷岩壁风貌。

下沉花园和水景是整栋建筑的中心,不仅为公共区域和观展流线引入自然光线,还能作为标志为观众导向。

文化传承

如何因地制宜地运用当地文化元素,对设计至关重要。从庭院到幕墙,设计从中国传统园林汲取灵感,在尊重本土文化和环境的前提下,以全新的方式重新演绎庭院景观。

细胞壁
可持续性
绿色屋顶花园回收雨水并与中水一同收集再利用。
可持续性

美国LEED 金级认证、中国绿建三星标准的博物馆,是一座生物气候型建筑。通过以细胞墙控制采光和遮阳,最大化日光照射,最小化太阳能吸收;中庭的椭圆形水池可对周边环境进行蒸发制冷;地热系统则可调节地表温度。建筑既是自然科学的展示平台,也是展示的组成部分,将自然和博物馆的故事娓娓道来。

 

绿色墙
螺旋
项目亮点
博物馆从地面螺旋上升,与公园景色融为一体。

建筑及工程顾问:

同济大学建筑设计研究院

项目团队

人员
Bill Doerge
人员
Todd Snapp
人员
Bryan Schabel
人员
Bill Berger

Exterior
Exterior

Shanghai Natural History Museum

Shanghai, China
Take a Journey into Nature's Past

Museums are mirrors. In them, we see the history and complicated features of ourselves. Whether focused on history or culture, on science or art, on the natural world or the outcomes of human activity; museums are about people.

The creation of the new Shanghai Natural History Museum was challenging in part because of the memories associated with the previous museum. “The former nature museum has a special place for people who grew up in Shanghai,” notes managing director for our Shanghai studio James Lu.

The museum’s most striking feature is the cavernous 109-foot cell wall that looks to have been painstakingly carved out of the earth by an archeologist.

Inspired by man’s relationship with nature, every part of the museum is open to human interaction, including the green roof that rises up the path. Natural light pours in from all sides, breathing life and soul into the exhibits.

Adjacent to an urban sculpture park, the museum rises up as a spiraling landscaped plane surrounding an oval pond, its shape recalling the harmonious forms and proportions of a nautilus shell, one of the purest geometric forms found in nature.

Sketch
What it is
A natural history museum that brings new experiences to the city and its people by integrating nature with architecture.
Cell Wall
The main structural layer emphasizes the organic cell as the structural building block of nature.
An Iconic Cell Wall

The wall is comprised of three layers, each with its own unique geometrical pattern and organic form. It is organized in an elliptical cone shape that envelopes the atrium. The main structural layer emphasizes the organic cell as the structural building block of nature. An inner layer, which is the waterproof envelope of the building, is formed by the glass and aluminum mullion curtain-wall. The outer layer is a solar screen that emulates the cellular building block of all life forms and performs like traditional Chinese window screens.

Cell Wall
Three Façades

The three main façade designs reinforce the content of the museum. The central cell wall relates to the cellular structure of plants and animals. The eastern living wall represents the vegetation of the earth’s surface. The northern stone wall suggests shifting tectonic plates, as well as canyon walls eroded by rivers.

The sunken garden and water feature provide a central focus to the entire building which brings diffused daylight to public and circulation areas throughout the design, helping visitor orientation.

Cultural References

The use of regional cultural references was key to the design – from the courtyard to the screen wall, the design relates to features and themes that we witnessed in traditional garden designs, which we re-interpreted, rather than mimicked.

Cell Wall
Sustainability
Rain water is collected from the vegetated roof and stored in the pond along with recycled grey water.
Sustainability

The LEED Gold certified, China Green 3-Star museum is a bioclimatic building which responds to the solar radiation by using an appropriately oriented intelligent building skin to maximize daylight and minimize solar gain. The pond in the oval courtyard provides evaporative cooling while the temperature of the earth provides heating and cooling by using a geothermal system. All of the energy features of the museum are part of exhibits which explain the story of the museum.

Green Wall
Spiral
What makes it cool
The museum spirals out of the ground and becomes an integral part of the larger parkland area.

Associate Architect and Engineer:
Tongji University Architectural Design & Research Institute

Project Team

People
Ralph Johnson
People
Bill Doerge
People
Todd Snapp
People
Bryan Schabel
People
Bill Berger