贝尔博物馆猛禽

明尼苏达大学贝尔博物馆

圣保罗 (明尼苏达州)
"我们如何知道"的揭幕

贝尔博物馆是明尼苏达州的官方自然历史博物馆,144 年来一直保存和庆祝该州。 以前,新场地被设计成一个学习景观,其表面配置为将人、自然和环境联系在一起。

我们创造了穿越时间、空间和生活的个人探索之旅——通过艺术、科学和文化的镜头讲述。 “我们是如何知道”的揭幕仪式帮助参观者认识到博物馆和天文馆是明尼苏达大学研究的门户。

贝尔的不朽故事箱窗户是每个游客通过博物馆进行的宏伟个人旅程的一部分。 三个巨大的玻璃和木材故事箱是内部和外部空间之间的”镜头”,激励每个游客跨越时间连接环境体验,只是在过去(博物馆内)和环境体验之间立即提出(在建筑物外),通知我们的集体未来。

生活迪奥拉马
该建筑被设想为一个活生生的互动立体 -连接内部空间与相邻的景观。

受到弗朗西斯·李·贾克斯(Francis Lee Jaques)历史悠久的明尼苏达州立体建筑的先天故事力量的启发,贝尔的不朽故事箱窗户塑造了每个游客通过博物馆进行的精彩个人旅程。

明尼苏达大学贝尔博物馆
建筑外部通过使用热改白松作为展厅和故事箱,讲述独特的明尼苏达州环境故事。 明尼苏达州的铁矿历史以红色石灰石屋顶压载物、风化钢、不锈钢和镀锌钢包覆元件为代表。
向大自然学习

博物馆的大部分外部覆盖着热改性白松木包层,从明尼苏达州森林采伐,这些森林经过生态管理和认证,符合森林管理委员会标准 (FSC)。 建筑周围的景观包括耐旱原生植物和适应植物的多样化组合。 为了减轻对鸟类的威胁,建筑师们为玻璃开发了一种定制的视觉花纹,可以阻止鸟类撞击,并且对贝尔博物馆的参观者来说并不显眼。

热改性白松夹层
热改性是一种将未充分利用的物种转化为无维护、低环境影响、50年外部包层的技术。
鸟安全玻璃
贝尔博物馆采用新的制造技术,实现高性能玻璃,实现最大视野和鸟类安全,将有助于推动全球市场全面接受鸟类安全玻璃。
博物馆计划组件包括:
展览空间、数字天文馆剧场、博物馆商店、活动大厅、办公室、策展工作室、科学教室和互动探索室。
研究网关

新的贝尔博物馆是明尼苏达大学圣保罗校区的门户,展示了该大学在创新研究、教育和公众参与方面的声誉。 三个玻璃和木材故事箱充当室内空间和邻近景观之间的镜头。 它们与社区互动,并激励访客在环境体验和即时环境体验之间跨越时间进行连接。

120 座沉浸式天文馆
具有"无缝圆顶投影表面",这是数字教育工具的最新创新。
明尼苏达大学贝尔博物馆
博物馆大堂
自2018年博物馆开馆以来,参观人数增加了两倍多。
贝尔博物馆
两栖露天剧场
现场池塘捕获的屋顶水既提供了栖息地,也提供了灌溉充满活力的景观所需的水。
生物 多样性

雨水花园收集和过滤所有停车场的雨水,并将其送入地面,为位于场地下方的含水层充电。 营养丰富的蜜蜂草坪和草地为濒临灭绝的生锈斑大黄蜂和各种各样的其他重要授粉者提供了栖息地。 该建筑的设计能够有效地将碳足迹减少 70 多颗,与同类建筑相比,因此,它保护了地球周围的生命免受气候变化的蹂躏。

项目团队

人员
David Dimond
人员
John Slack
杰夫·齐巴特
人员
Jeff Ziebarth
人员
Douglas Pierce
人员
Heidi Costello

Bell Museum Mammoth

University of Minnesota Bell Museum

St. Paul, Minnesota
An Unveiling of "How We Know"

The Bell Museum is Minnesota’s official natural history museum and has been preserving and celebrating the state for more than 144 years. Previously housed in a confined building, the new site is designed as a learning landscape—its surfaces configured to tie people, nature, and the environment together.

We created a personal journey of discovery through time, space, and life—told through the lenses of art, science, and culture. This unveiling of “how we know” helps visitors recognize the museum and planetarium as a portal to University of Minnesota research.

Bell’s monumental storybox windows are part of the magnificent personal journey that each visitor takes through the museum. Three monumental glass and wood storyboxes are  “lenses” between the interior and exterior spaces inspiring every visitor to connect across time between environmental experiences that are only in the past (within the museum) and environmental experiences that are immediately present (outside the building), informing our collective future.

Living Diorama
The building was conceived as a living, interactive diorama – linking interior space to adjacent landscapes.

Inspired by the innate storytelling power of Francis Lee Jaques’ historic Minnesota dioramas, the Bell’s monumental storybox windows shape the magnificent personal journey that each visitor takes through the museum.

Bell Museum University of Minnesota
The building exterior tells unique Minnesota environmental stories through the use of thermally modified white pine for the exhibit hall and storyboxes. Minnesota’s iron ore history is represented by red limestone roof ballast, weathering steel, stainless steel, and galvanized steel cladding elements.
Learning from Nature

Much of the museum’s exterior is covered with thermally modified white pine wood cladding, harvested from Minnesota forests that are ecologically managed and certified to Forest Stewardship Council criteria (FSC). The landscape surrounding the building includes a diverse blend of drought tolerant native and adapted plants. To mitigate the threat to birds, the architects developed a custom visual frit pattern for the glass that deters bird strikes, and is non-obtrusive to Bell Museum visitors.

Thermally Modified White Pine Cladding
Thermal modification is a technology that transforms underutilized species into no maintenance, low environmental-impact, 50-year exterior cladding.
Bird Safe Glass
The Bell Museum’s use of new fabrication technology for high performance glass with maximum visibility and bird safety will help thrust the global market into full acceptance of bird safe glazing.
Museum Program components include:
Exhibit Spaces, Digital Planetarium Theater, Museum Store, Events Lobby, Offices, Curatorial Workrooms, Science Classrooms, and interactive Discovery Rooms.
Gateway to Research

The new Bell Museum is located as a gateway to the Saint Paul Campus of the University of Minnesota, and showcases the University’s reputation for innovative research, education, and public engagement. The three glass-and-wood storyboxes act as lenses between interior space and the adjacent landscapes. They engage the community, and inspire visitors to connect across time between environmental experiences from the past, and environmental experiences that are immediately present.

120 Seat Immersive Planetarium
Features a "seamless dome projection surface"—the latest innovation in digital education tools.
Bell Museum University of Minnesota
Museum Lobby
The number of visitors has more than tripled since the museum's opening in 2018.
Bell Museum
Amphibian Amphitheater
Roof water captured by the on-site pond provides both habitat and the water needed for irrigating the vibrant landscape.
Biodiversity

Rain gardens gather and filter all of the parking lot stormwater and send it into the ground and recharging the aquifer located below the site. Nutrient-rich bee lawns and meadows provide habitat for the endangered Rusty Patch bumblebee and a wide range of other essential pollinators. The building is designed to operate efficiently reducing its carbon footprint by more than 70% relative to comparable buildings and as a result, it protects life around the planet from the ravages of climate change.

Project Team

People
David Dimond
People
John Slack
Jeff Ziebarth
People
Jeff Ziebarth
People
Douglas Pierce
People
Heidi Costello